The Cave of Sounds at the Barbican

Sus Garcia playing Lightefface at Music Tech Fest, May 2013

The Cave of Sounds is an interactive sound installation I’ve created in collaboration with members of the Music Hackspace during a ten month residency there. I’m excited to announce we’ll be exhibiting the work at the Barbican from 19-26 August as a part of Hack the Barbican.

Inspired by the prehistoric origins of music and the evolution of collective music making as a power to forge a common collective identity, the work is an ensemble of new musical instruments, each created by a member of the Music Hackspace. Meeting up every few weeks, we’ve been exploring what it means to create music together in a culture where composition involves hacking and subverting technology to explore new ways of creating sound.

The resulting piece is a circle of eight new instruments. Audience members are invited to experiment and play with the instruments, exploring the musical worlds of the individuals that created them. But with each instrument facing inwards, the work has been crafted to provoke people to look up at those around them and create music together. Behind the scenes the instruments are networked, gently coordinating harmony and tempo, and driving a floor projection within the circle that visualises potential musical connections between participants.

You can get a taste of what it will be like in this video of a prototype of the work demoed at Music Tech Fest last May. Video by Mind the Film.

The Cave of Sounds will be installed on the lower ground floor of the Barbican, outside the stalls entrance to the concert hall. The opening times are:

Mon 19 Aug 7pm — 10pm
Tue 20 Aug 3pm — 10pm
Wed 21 Aug 3pm — 10pm
Thu 22 Aug 3pm — 10pm Private view: 7pm — 10pm
Fri 23 Aug 3pm — 10pm
Sat 24 Aug 11am — 10pm
Sun 25 Aug 11am — 10pm
Mon 26 Aug 11am — 4pm

The Cave of Sounds was created by Tim Murray-Browne with Borja Alexandre, Dom Aversano, Sus Garcia, Wallace Hobbes, Daniel Lopez, Tadeo Sendon, Panagiotis Tigas and Kacper Ziemianin.

It was created through Sound and Music’s Embedded Composer in Residence programme with the Music Hackspace, with support from the Esmee Fairbairn Foundation and Arts Council England. Special thanks for support to Duncan Chapman, Atau Tanaka, Hannah Bujic, Jean-Baptiste Thiebaut, Martin Klang, Nick Sherrard, The Centre for Creative Collaboration, Troyganic, Queen Mary University of London and Mind The Film.